Monday, March 23, 2009

MLS 3 Divisions in 2011

Well the league just expanded to Portland Oregon and Vancouver BC. these 2 teams are clearly in the West. The Seattle FC however is the 8th team in the West conference and there will only be 7 Eastern teams. What do you think will happen?
  • MLs could move both Dallas FC and Houston to the east to keep the conferences somewhat balanced with 9 east and 8 West teams.
  • MLS could create 3 Conferences or divisions what ever they call them.


  1. New England
  2. New York
  3. DC United
  4. Philly
  5. Toronto TC
  6. Columbus


  1. Chicago
  2. Kansas City
  3. Real Salt Lake
  4. Colorado Rapids
  5. Dallas FC
  6. Houston Dyna


  1. Vancouver
  2. Portland
  3. Seattle
  4. San Jose
  5. LA Galaxy
  6. Chivas

Each Division gets to place 2 teams into playoffs and the 2 best remaining teams for 2 other conferences. This would keeps fans interested all year.

1 comment:

T. said...

Not a bad format for 2011. MLS had 3 divisions in 2001 and this very similar to the Mexican League. What do you think of a single table in 2011?